Make use of Stones

Nothing goes to waste in an organic garden. In my garden the soil, which is thin over rock, is full of stones and as I work our patch of  land I take out the stones from soil where I am preparing seeds beds for onions, brassicas and lettuces or to sow crops that don’t like stony ground. Buckets of stones come out of the ground every season and what better use to put them than to make paths.  They suppress weeds and make walking around a lot easier.

I use the larger flatter stones to place around capsicums, when planting out, to help retain the sun’s heat that will radiate back at night and help plants get a good start.

, ,

  1. #1 by Mini Greenhouse on April 22, 2011 - 20:00

    What a really clever way to use the stones. My garden is a nightmare in terms of rubble in the ground. This post has given me a good idea how to usefully and environmentally friendly use them! Thanks a bunch

  2. #2 by bob sbarro on August 3, 2011 - 09:02

    That’s a great tip! I mean, we’re all used to recycling, but even recycling the stones you find while gardening is on a whole ‘nother level entirely. Great idea though, I might do it myself.

Leave a Reply

