Chile de Arbol

Capsicum Annuum, Chilli de Arbol

Chilli, Capsicum Annuum, de Arbol also known as Tree Chilli

Origin Oaxaca and Jalisco states in Mexico. According to the chilli database these chillis are sometimes called pico de pajaro (bird beak) or cola de rata (rat tail).
Plants
are extremely vigorous, growing into 5ft tall plants in a single season, hence the name, which in Spanish means tree like.
Fruit
are slender pointed chillis, 1cm wide and 7-10cm long they mature from light green to dark red and are mild to reasonably hot. Thin fleshed they dry well and make lovely wreaths or ‘Ristras’. 
Flavour:
The de arbol has a sharp, distinctive flavour that develops further when the dried pods are roasted in a frying pan for a few minutes.

Heat Hot 7/10
Use:
This chilli is predominantly used to make hot sauces, in Mexico they are fried whole with black beans or roasted until very crisp. These peppers make a good chilli powder after being dried or roasted. The  ground powder is delicious sprinkled on fruit or fresh raw veg salads

Seed Source I got the seeds in a swap.

MDD Growing Log

2009 grew extremely well in an unheated polytunnel producing loads of chillis right through the season. Plants need serious staking, they reached over 6ft in my polytunnel. Outdoors the plants also produced a good crop, quick to ripen. A useful easy to grow chilli.

Note this variety log is part of a series on my favourite varieties; the pick of the crop and the ones that I will continue to grow and save seeds of. I like to keep good records for the varieties I maintain seeds for. See my other variety files

,

  1. #1 by gonzalez selmo on September 15, 2010 - 10:41

    I HOPE THAT THE SEEDS WHERE THE ONES i SWAP WHITH YOU IN 2008.see my gmail gallery (solprau) FOR MORE PLANTS

  2. #2 by Juanita Pardun on July 20, 2011 - 05:31

    Bought plant at Orchard Supply. Plant is small when compared to Anaheim and Fresno Chilis planted at same time. Maybe mislabled??

    • #3 by Laura on August 2, 2011 - 10:08

      I did find Chile de Arbol fairly slow growing so maybe that is the issue, but once they get gowing then they really seem to motor in the right conditions. Also I think they like a lot of heat I grew them in a polytunnel here in the South of France.

  3. #4 by Juanita Pardun on December 5, 2011 - 07:01

    The chili I bought is an asian chili pepper. Very small very hot. It is currently a houseplant for the winter. Seems very happy in the house.

Leave a comment